9:00 - 9:05

ENGLISH, FRENCH

Official opening of #SIALCanadaConnect

Welcome message from Mr. André Lamontagne, Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, followed by Xavier Poncin, CEO of SIAL Canada.

9:05 - 10:00

ANGLAIS

Economic outlook for the food industry

Jean-Philippe Gervais, 

The economic performance of the Canadian food industry has been stellar in the last decade based on a number of indicators: rapid product innovation, strong growth in domestic sales and export market development. And then there’s been COVID. Food consumption patterns shifted, trade corridors got disrupted, commodity prices climbed and labour shortages turned more acute. But the underlying drivers of success in the food industry are still present - relentless efforts to meet evolving consumer fold preferences, thirst for product and process innovations and an uncompromised focus on quality. What kind of performance should we expect from the Canadian food industry going forward? This presentation reviews the economic trends and variables that determine a) the investment context for innovation; b) competitive pressures along the agri-food supply chain; and c) consumer food purchasing decisions.

#economy

10:10 - 10:50

ENGLISH

Twenty Years of Innovation: looking back to the past to understand the present and prepare for the future

Dana McCauley,  Isabelle Marquis, 

In honour of SIAL Canada’s 20th Anniversary, Dana McCauley and Isabelle Marquis, co-presidents of the SIAL Innovation Awards Jury, will review the major trends that produced disruptive products that impacted the Canadian food business over the last two decades. Join them on a fast-paced trip down memory lane as these two innovation pros compare notes and share their perspectives on the how and why these trends have evolved and continue to affect the food business today.

#20yearsofinnovation

11:00 - 12:00

ENGLISH

What’s Next? The Future of Food Innovation

Moderator: Dana McCauley

Isabelle Marquis,  Cher Mereweather,  Sylvain Charlebois,  Dan Clapson, 

What products will be in grocery carts in 2030? And will we still use grocery carts in 2030 or will all groceries be purchased online? Although no one can answer these specific questions today, business leaders need information to create innovation strategies that will prepare their businesses to be ready for whatever the future holds. That’s why SIAL Canada has invited three of Canada’s most respected food industry professionals to share their expert insights on the future of food innovation. This lively discussion, followed by a Q&A session, will reveal the market drivers and consumer needs that will impact food industry innovation in the years to come.

#FutureOfFoodInnovation

12:10 - 1:00

ENGLISH

UNDERSTAND AND ANTICIPATE CONSUMERS’ HEALTH IMPERATIVES

Francis Parisien, 

Canadians want to eat healthfully. And it’s this intention to eat better that should serve as a guide for food and beverage companies into 2022 and beyond. But we’re all human, and that means we don’t always do as we say. The gap is real. Companies need to evolve and maneuvre to bridge the gap between what people want and what stands in the way of following through on those wants. If consumers have an intent to change, even at a subconscious or subliminal level, marketers need to do everything they can to transform that intention into action.

#NielsenIQ

1:00 - 1:05

ENGLISH, FRENCH

Unveiling of the 2021 Alizés Awards finalists

Martin Lavoie, 

Proud successor to the Canadian Export Business Award, granted by the Agri-Food Export Group for almost 15 years, the Alizés Awards, highlight the excellence of the work accomplished by Canadian agri-food compagnies that have distinguished themselves in international markets.

#AlizésAwards

1:05 - 1:10

ENGLISH, FRENCH

Closing of #SIALCanadaConnect

Closing message by Xavier Poncin, CEO of SIAL Canada and launch of SIAL Canada 2022

#SIALCanadaConnect

Jean-Philippe Gervais

Vice-President and Chief Economist, FCC

Dana McCauley

Chief Experience Officer, Canadian Food Innovation Network

Isabelle Marquis

Food Marketing & Communication Specialist

Dr. Sylvain Charlebois

Professor in Food Distribution and Policy at Dalhousie University

Cher Mereweather

Founder and CEO, Provision Coalition Inc.

Dan Clapson

The Globe and Mail restaurant critic for the Canadian Prairies and Eat North co-founder

Francis Parisien

SMB Leader - NielsenIQ Canada

Martin Lavoie

Chief Executive Officer, Group Export Agri-Food

Advertisement

Privacy policy and usage of Cookies

SIAL Canada uses cookies on his entire site to improve your user experience. Learn more about our use of cookies and our privacy policy here. By continuing to use our site or closing this banner, you agree to these terms.

9:00 - 9:05

FRANÇAIS, ANGLAIS

Ouverture officielle de #SIALCanadaConnect

Message de bienvenue de M. André Lamontagne, ministre de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation, suivi de M. Xavier Poncin, directeur général de SIAL Canada.

#SIALCanadaConnect

9:05 - 10:00

ANGLAIS

Perspectives économiques de l’industrie alimentaire

Jean-Philippe Gervais, 

Les performances économiques de l'industrie alimentaire canadienne ont été excellentes au cours de la dernière décennie, si l'on en croit un certain nombre d'indicateurs : innovation rapide des produits, forte croissance des ventes intérieures et développement des marchés d'exportation. Et puis il y a eu COVID. Les habitudes de consommation alimentaire ont changé, les corridors commerciaux ont été perturbés, les prix des produits de base ont augmenté et les pénuries de main-d'œuvre se sont aggravées. Mais les moteurs sous-jacents du succès de l'industrie alimentaire sont toujours présents : des efforts incessants pour répondre à l'évolution des préférences des consommateurs, une soif d'innovations en matière de produits et de processus et un souci constant de la qualité. Quel type de performance devons-nous attendre de l'industrie alimentaire canadienne à l'avenir ? Cette présentation examine les tendances et les variables économiques qui déterminent: a) le contexte d'investissement pour l'innovation ; b) les pressions concurrentielles le long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement agroalimentaire ; et c) les décisions d'achat des consommateurs en matière d'alimentation.

#économie

10:10 - 10:50

ANGLAIS

20 ans d’innovation : quoi retenir du passé pour comprendre le présent et préparer l’avenir

Dana McCauley,  Isabelle Marquis, 

Dans le cadre du 20e anniversaire de SIAL Canada, Dana McCauley et Isabelle Marquis, co-présidentes du jury au concours SIAL Innovation, vous présentent un retour sur les grandes tendances qui ont eu une influence importante sur l’évolution de l’offre alimentaire ces vingt dernières années. Joignez-vous à ces deux expertes passionnées d’innovation pour un retour express dans le temps et un partage de leur point de vue respectif sur la façon dont les grandes tendances ont évolué et vont continuer d’influencer le travail des entreprises bioalimentaires d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

#20ansdinnovation

11:00 - 12:00

ANGLAIS

Futur de l’innovation alimentaire : à quoi devons-nous nous attendre?

Modérateur: Dana McCauley

Isabelle Marquis,  Cher Mereweather,  Sylvain Charlebois,  Dan Clapson, 

Quels produits garniront les paniers d’épicerie des Canadiens en 2030? En fait, les paniers seront-ils encore utiles ou est-ce que la majorité des achats alimentaires seront faits en ligne? Et quelles seront les grandes attentes et exigences des consommateurs envers les producteurs, les transformateurs et les distributeurs? Bien qu’aucune de ces questions ne puissent être répondue avec une certitude absolue, il est important de les adresser et d’y réfléchir pour permettre aux acteurs de l’industrie bioalimentaire de se préparer au mieux, quoique l’avenir nous réserve. C’est dans cette optique que SIAL Canada a invité trois professionnels de l’industrie parmi les plus respectés au pays pour échanger sur leur vision du futur de l’innovation alimentaire et identifier quels sont les grands moteurs de l’innovation à surveiller de près. Cette discussion sera suivie d’une période de questions avec les participants. Note : La discussion sera conduite en anglais, mais des questions pourront être posées en français.

#FuturInnovationAlimentaire

12:10 - 1:00

ANGLAIS

BIEN COMPRENDRE ET ANTICIPER LES BESOINS SANTÉ DES CONSOMMATEURS

Francis Parisien, 

Les Canadiens veulent manger sainement. Et c'est cette intention de mieux manger qui devrait servir de guide aux entreprises d'aliments et de boissons en 2022 et au-delà. Mais nous sommes tous humains, et cela signifie que nous ne faisons pas toujours ce que nous disons. Le fossé est réel. Les entreprises doivent évoluer et manœuvrer pour combler le fossé entre ce que les gens veulent et ce qui les empêche de répondre à leurs attentes. Si les consommateurs ont l'intention de changer, même à un niveau subconscient ou subliminal, les spécialistes du marketing doivent faire tout ce qu'ils peuvent pour transformer cette intention en action.

#NielsenIQ

1:00 - 1:05

FRANÇAIS, ANGLAIS

Dévoilement des finalistes des Prix Alizés 2021

Martin Lavoie, 

Fiers successeurs du Prix de l'entreprise exportatrice canadienne, décerné par le Groupe Export agroalimentaire depuis près de 15 ans, les Prix Alizés, soulignent l'excellence du travail accompli par les entreprises agroalimentaires canadiennes qui se sont distinguées sur les marchés internationaux.

#PrixAlizés

1:05 - 1:10

FRANÇAIS, ANGLAIS

Clôture du #SIALCanadaConnect

Message de clôture de Xavier Poncin, PDG de SIAL Canada et lancement du SIAL 2022

#SIALCanadaConnect

Jean-Philippe Gervais

Vice-président et Économiste en Chef, FAC

Dana McCauley

Directrice de l'Expérience Client, Réseau Canadien d'Innovation en Alimentation

Isabelle Marquis

Stratège senior en alimentation

Dr. Sylvain Charlebois

Professeur en distribution et politiques agroalimentaires à l'Université Dalhousie

Cher Mereweather

Fondatrice et PDG, Provision Coalition Inc.

Dan Clapson

Critique gastronomique du Globe and Mail pour les Prairies canadiennes et le cofondateur du site culinaire Eat North.

Francis Parisien

Leader SMB - NielsenIQ Canada

Martin Lavoie

Président-Directeur Général, Groupe Export agroalimentaire

Publicité

Politique de confidentialité et utilisation des fichiers témoins (cookie).

SIAL Canada utilise les fichiers témoins sur l’ensemble de son site afin de pouvoir améliorer votre expérience utilisateur. Apprenez-en plus sur notre utilisation des fichiers témoins et notre politique de confidentialité ici. En continuant l’utilisation de notre site ou en fermant cette fenêtre, vous acceptez notre utilisation des fichiers témoins.