SIAL PODCAST

NEW!

New addition this year, the SIAL Podcast hosted The Food Professor who interviewed at the show various food innovators and entrepreneurs, creators and makers from many facets of the food industry.

Join Dr. Sylvain Charlebois, Senior Director, Agri-Food Analytics Lab at Dalhousie University in Halifax with host Michael LeBlanc from The Voice of Retail podcast as they look at the hot issues in the food, foodservice, grocery and restaurant industries. Discussions covered topics such as the popularity of plant proteins, olive oils, vinegar, food safety, cheese trends, upcycling and new green refrigeration systems for grocers.

Listen now!

 

   
epISODE 1 (57mn)

Live from SIAL Montreal: The Food Professor

Welcome to the first of several special SIAL bonus episodes of the SIAL Podcast hosted by The Food Professor!

Sylvain and Michael were thrilled to be the official podcast of the SIAL food innovation trade show held in Montreal in April; for many, the first in-person event since the COVID era began two years ago. They had the opportunity to meet and get to know many food innovators and entrepreneurs, creators and makers from many facets of the food industry. 

 

ePISODE 2 (19mn)

In this episode: Pierre-Yves Cote, President of Vivanda Boreal.

 


ePISODE 3  (18mn)

In this episode: Jacqueline Day, Founder & CEO, Real Treat Kitchen Ltd.

 

ePISODE 4  (20mn)

In this episode: Meera Sunny Director of Research & Development and Ingredient Sales, CanMar Foods.

ePISODE 5  (18mn)

In this episode: Shawn Leggett, President/Founder at GroundUP Eco-Ventures, Gold Winner in SIAL's Innovation  Awards.

GroundUp eco-ventures is a unique company based on the concept of circular economies. Using clean technology, they are focused on creating value from upcycling the waste streams of both the coffee & craft brewery industries. Their goal is to create value through eliminating waste & while we love to nerd out on the process, we couldn’t be happier with the results as well.

 

EPISODE 6  (18mn)

In this episode: Gurth M. Pretty, President of the International Cheese Competition Jury and owner of Lakeview Cheese Galore.

Gurth is a passionate cheese and sales professional specializing in Canadian and international cheeses. His experience includes retail merchandising, sales analysis and review, distribution, marketing, branding, corporate training, special event coordination, judging international cheese competitions, recipe development and food costing.

 

 

 

 

 

About Dr. Sylvain Charlebois:

Dr. Sylvain Charlebois is a Professor in food distribution and policy in the Faculties of Management and Agriculture at Dalhousie University in Halifax. He is also the Senior Director of the Agri-food Analytics Lab, also located at Dalhousie University. Before joining Dalhousie, he was affiliated with the University of Guelph’s Arrell Food Institute, which he co-founded. Known as “The Food Professor”, his current research interest lies in the broad area of food distribution, security and safety. Google Scholar ranks him as one of the world's most cited scholars in food supply chain management, food value chains and traceability.

He has authored five books on global food systems, his most recent one published in 2017 by Wiley-Blackwell entitled “Food Safety, Risk Intelligence and Benchmarking”. He has also published over 500 peer-reviewed journal articles in several academic publications. Furthermore, his research has been featured in several newspapers and media groups, including The Lancet, The Economist, the New York Times, the Boston Globe, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, BBC, NBC, ABC, Fox News, Foreign Affairs, the Globe & Mail, the National Post and the Toronto Star.

Dr. Charlebois sits on a few company boards, and supports many organizations as a special advisor, including some publicly traded companies. Charlebois is also a member of the Scientific Council of the Business Scientific Institute, based in Luxemburg. Dr. Charlebois is a member of the Global Food Traceability Centre’s Advisory Board based in Washington DC, and a member of the National Scientific Committee of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) in Ottawa.

 

 

About Michael LeBlanc:

Michael is the Founder & President of M.E. LeBlanc & Company Inc and a Senior Advisor to Retail Council of Canada as part of his advisory and consulting practice.   He brings 25+ years of brand/retail/marketing & eCommerce leadership experience and has been on the front lines of retail industry change for his entire career. Michael is the producer and host of a network of leading podcasts including Canada’s top retail industry podcast, The Voice of Retail, plus  Global E-Commerce Tech Talks, The Food Professor  with Dr. Sylvain Charlebois and now in its second season, Conversations with CommerceNext!  You can learn more about Michael here or on LinkedIn. Be sure and check out Michael's latest adventure for fun and influencer riches - Last Request Barbecue,  his YouTube BBQ cooking channel!

Privacy policy and usage of Cookies

SIAL Canada uses cookies on his entire site to improve your user experience. Learn more about our use of cookies and our privacy policy here. By continuing to use our site or closing this banner, you agree to these terms.

SIAL PODCAST

NOUVEAU !

Nouveauté cette année, SIAL Podcast a accueilli The Food Professor qui a interviewé sur le salon divers innovateurs et entrepreneurs alimentaires, ainsi que des créateurs et fabricants de l'industrie alimentaire.

Joignez-vous au Dr Sylvain Charlebois, directeur principal du laboratoire d'analyse agroalimentaire de l'Université Dalhousie à Halifax, et à l'animateur Michael LeBlanc, du podcast The Voice of Retail, alors qu'ils examinent les questions d'actualité dans les industries de l'alimentation, des services alimentaires, des épiceries et des restaurants. Les discussions ont porté sur des sujets tels que la popularité des protéines végétales, les huiles d'olive, le vinaigre, la sécurité alimentaire, les tendances en matière de fromage, l'upcycling et les nouveaux systèmes de réfrigération écologiques pour les épiciers.

Écoutez dès maintenant!

 

   
ÉPISODE 1(57mn)

En direct du SIAL Montréal: The Food Professor

Bienvenue au premier de plusieurs épisodes bonus spéciaux du SIAL Podcast animé par The Food Professor !
Sylvain et Michael étaient ravis d'être le podcast officiel du salon de l'innovation alimentaire SIAL qui s'est tenu à Montréal en avril ; pour beaucoup, il s'agissait du premier événement en personne depuis le début de l'ère COVID il y a deux ans. Ils ont eu l'occasion de rencontrer et de faire connaissance avec de nombreux innovateurs et entrepreneurs alimentaires, créateurs et fabricants de nombreuses facettes de l'industrie alimentaire.

 

ÉPISODE 2 (19mn)

Dans cet épisode: Pierre-Yves Côté, Président de Vivanda Boreal

 


ÉPISODE 3  (18mn)

Dans cet épisode: Jacqueline Day, Fondatrice et PDG, Real Treat Kitchen Ltd.

 

ÉPISODE 4  (20mn)

Dans cet épisode: Meera Sunny, Directrice de Recherche et Développement et vente d'ingrédients, CanMar Food

ÉPISODE 5  (18mn)

Dans cet épisode: Shawn Leggett, président/fondateur de GroundUP Eco-Ventures, lauréat d'or des prix de l'innovation du SIAL.
GroundUp eco-ventures est une entreprise unique basée sur le concept d'économie circulaire. En utilisant une technologie propre, elle se concentre sur la création de valeur à partir du recyclage des flux de déchets des industries du café et des brasseries artisanales. Leur objectif est de créer de la valeur en éliminant les déchets. Si nous adorons nous intéresser au processus, nous ne pourrions pas être plus heureux des résultats

 

ÉPISODE 6  (18mn)

Dans cet épisode: Gurth M. Pretty, Président du Jury du Concours International de Fromages et propriétaire de la boutique Lakeview Cheese Galore.
Gurth est un professionnel passionné du domaine des fromages et de la vente, spécialisé dans les fromages canadiens et internationaux. Ses expériences comprennent le marchandisage au détail, l'analyse et l'examen des ventes, la distribution, le marketing, la stratégie de marque, la formation en entreprise, la coordination d'événements spéciaux, la participation en tant que juge à des concours internationaux de fromage, l'élaboration de recettes et l'établissement du coût des aliments.

 

 

 

 

 

 

A propos du Dr Sylvain Charlebois:

Le Dr Sylvain Charlebois est professeur en distribution et politique alimentaire aux facultés de gestion et d'agriculture de l'Université Dalhousie à Halifax. Il est également le directeur principal du Laboratoire d'analyse agroalimentaire, également situé à l'Université Dalhousie. Avant de se joindre à Dalhousie, il était affilié à l'Arrell Food Institute de l'Université de Guelph, qu'il a cofondé. Connu sous le nom de "professeur d'alimentation", ses recherches actuelles portent sur le vaste domaine de la distribution, de la sécurité et de la sûreté des aliments. Google Scholar le classe parmi les chercheurs les plus cités dans le monde en matière de gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement alimentaire, de chaînes de valeur alimentaire et de traçabilité.

Il est l'auteur de cinq ouvrages sur les systèmes alimentaires mondiaux, dont le plus récent, publié en 2017 par Wiley-Blackwell, s'intitule "Food Safety, Risk Intelligence and Benchmarking". Il a également publié plus de 500 articles de journaux évalués par les pairs dans plusieurs publications universitaires. En outre, ses recherches ont été présentées dans plusieurs journaux et groupes de médias, notamment The Lancet, The Economist, le New York Times, le Boston Globe, le Wall Street Journal, le Washington Post, la BBC, NBC, ABC, Fox News, Foreign Affairs, le Globe & Mail, le National Post et le Toronto Star.

Le Dr Charlebois siège au conseil d'administration de quelques sociétés et soutient de nombreuses organisations en tant que conseiller spécial, y compris certaines sociétés cotées en bourse. Charlebois est également membre du conseil scientifique du Business Scientific Institute, basé au Luxembourg. Le Dr Charlebois est membre du conseil consultatif du Global Food Traceability Centre, basé à Washington DC, et membre du comité scientifique national de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA), à Ottawa.

 

 

À propos de Michael LeBlanc :

Michael est le fondateur et président de M.E. LeBlanc & Company Inc. et un conseiller principal du Conseil canadien du commerce de détail dans le cadre de sa pratique de conseil et de consultation. Il possède plus de 25 ans d'expérience en matière de leadership dans les domaines de la marque, du commerce de détail, du marketing et du commerce électronique, et il a été aux premières lignes du changement dans l'industrie du commerce de détail pendant toute sa carrière. Michael est le producteur et l'hôte d'un réseau de podcasts de premier plan, dont le podcast le plus important du secteur du commerce de détail au Canada, The Voice of Retail, ainsi que Global E-Commerce Tech Talks, The Food Professor with Dr. Sylvain Charlebois et, maintenant dans sa deuxième saison, Conversations with CommerceNext ! Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur Michael ici ou sur LinkedIn. N'oubliez pas de jeter un coup d'œil à la dernière aventure de Michael pour vous amuser et vous enrichir en tant qu'influenceur : Last Request Barbecue, sa chaîne YouTube de cuisine au barbecue !

Politique de confidentialité et utilisation des fichiers témoins (cookie).

SIAL Canada utilise les fichiers témoins sur l’ensemble de son site afin de pouvoir améliorer votre expérience utilisateur. Apprenez-en plus sur notre utilisation des fichiers témoins et notre politique de confidentialité ici. En continuant l’utilisation de notre site ou en fermant cette fenêtre, vous acceptez notre utilisation des fichiers témoins.